les presses du réel

The Art World

The Art World M/M (Paris) - The Art World
Photography by M/M (Paris) from the FIAC posters and advertising 2005-2012.
For every FIAC (Paris International Contemporary Art Fair) since 2005, M/M (Paris) has assembled a collection of photos from around the world that constitutes a sort of ongoing archive. Each of these photos shows a place—sometimes empty, sometimes inhabited; urban or perhaps bucolic; identifiable or ambiguous. In the framework of this project, each is supposed to work in connection with a simple message and a particular context, determined not so much by the content of the message as the site where it appears, its formator or its intended recipients.
“As images they are not exceptional, but they are special. Their subjects, their effects, and what they directly express — none of it is particularly exceptional. Neither are they banal, proving to be instead highly sophisticated. It seems they were all shot somewhere where art was being made — although happily you don't see that at all now. It is therefore impossible to give this book a subject — although we can definitely see how these photographs brought together show the setting for art, the setting for its commerce at least. One can imagine this because the photos were initially intended to be part of a composition of images promoting an international contemporary art fair. The book becomes a sort of geographical manual defining the movements of art works, bringing them to a specific territory, to its peripheries” — Eric Troncy
Limited edition of numbered 1500 copies.
M/M (Paris) is a creative partnership between Mathias Augustyniak (born 1967 in Cavaillon) and Michael Amzalag (born 1968 in Paris), founded in 1992. Working within the framework of language and design, they practice across many cultural fields. Unfettered by the structures of disciplinary boundaries, these self-described artists perceive their professional title to be Strategic Creative Directors. From their Parisian studio, M/M has worked and developed strong relationships with musicians (Björk, Madonna, Jean-Louis Murat...); contemporary artists (Philippe Parreno, Pierre Huyghe, Liam Gillick, Sarah Morris, Gabriela Fridriksdottir, François Curlet, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster...); fashion designers (Yohji Yamamoto, Jil Sander, Balenciaga, Givenchy, Stella McCartney…); and magazines (Vogue Paris, i-D, Purple Fashion, Arena Homme+, Interview, Frog, eDEN, Stream, Documents sur l'art...); and with cultural institutions (Palais de Tokyo, Musée d'Art Moderne and Centre Pompidou in Paris, Le Consortium in Dijon, The Desde Foundation in Athens, the Serpentine Gallery in London…).
 
Text by Eric Troncy.
Photography by Mathias Augustyniak.
 
published in October 2012
bilingual edition (English / French)
23 x 34,5 cm (hardcover)
128 pages (104 color ill.)
 
40.00
 
ISBN : 978-2-918392-05-7
EAN : 9782918392057
 
in stock
The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World The Art World


 top of page

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
The Art World
M/M (Paris) [tous les titres]
M/M (Paris) [tous les titres]
 M/M (Paris) The Art World
Texte de Eric Troncy.
Photographies de Mathias Augustyniak.
paru en octobre 2012
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
23 x 34,5 cm (relié)
128 pages (104 ill. coul.)
40.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-918392-05-7
EAN : 9782918392057
en stock
 
L'ensemble des photographies réalisées par M/M (Paris) pour les affiches et supports de communication de la FIAC depuis 2005.
Pour chaque édition de la FIAC depuis 2005, M/M (Paris) ont assemblé une collection de photographies du monde entier qui constitue une sorte d'archive vivante. Chacune de ces photos montre un lieu, parfois vide, parfois inhabité, urbain ou bucolique, identifiable ou ambigu. Dans le cadre de ce projet, chacune est supposée fonctionner en relation avec un message et un contexte particuliers, déterminés non pas tant par le contenu du message que par le lieu où il apparaît, par son énonciateur ou par les destinataires auxquels il s'adresse.
« Ces images n'ont rien d'exceptionnel mais se révèlent “spéciales”. Rien d'exceptionnel dans leur sujet, dans leurs effets, dans ce qu'elles expriment directement. Mais pas banales pour autant, et même hautement sophistiquées. Il paraît qu'elles ont toutes plus où moins été réalisées là où quelque chose ayant trait à l'art se produisait — fort heureusement on n'en voit plus rien. Impossible de donner au livre un sujet — et pourtant, on voit bien comment en vérité ces photographies réunies montrent effectivement le décor de l'art, plus exactement le décor de son commerce. On l'imagine parce qu'elles étaient destinées à la composition d'images promouvant une foire d'art contemporain. Et le livre devient comme un manuel de géographie qui tenterait de circonscrire le déplacement des œuvres, de le ramener à un territoire, à ses à côtés. »
Eric Troncy
Edition limitée à 1500 exemplaires numérotés.
M/M (Paris) est un studio fondé en 1992 par Michael Amzalag (né en 1968 à Paris) et Mathias Augustyniak (né en 1967 à Cavaillon). Prenant le graphisme comme point de départ, ils ont œuvré au-delà de ses frontières traditionnelles et à travers de nombreux champs artistiques : mode, art, musique, théâtre, design, édition... Ils ont multiplié les collaborations avec des musiciens (Björk, Madonna, Jean-Louis Murat...), avec des artistes contemporains (Philippe Parreno, Pierre Huyghe, Liam Gillick, Sarah Morris, Gabriela Fridriksdottir, François Curlet, Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster...), des créateurs de mode (Yohji Yamamoto, Jil Sander, Balenciaga, Givenchy, Stella McCartney…), des magazines (Vogue Paris, i-D, Purple Fashion, Arena Homme+, Interview, Frog, eDEN, Stream, Documents sur l'art...), ainsi qu'avec de nombreuses institutions artistiques (le Palais de Tokyo, le Musée d'Art moderne de la Ville de Paris et le Centre Pompidou à Paris, Le Consortium à Dijon, la Deste Foundation à Athènes, la Serpentine Gallery à Londres, etc.).
Parallèlement à leurs travaux de commande, ils développent une pratique propre de l'exposition en réinterprétant leurs archives ou en les confrontant à d'autres œuvres (Kunstverein, Francfort, 2005, Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2005, galerie Haunch of Venison, Londres, 2006, Centre Pompidou, Paris, 2008).

M/M (Paris) développe par ailleurs un programme éditorial spécifique sous son propre nom.