english version / version française
House for a Painting
Inessa Hansch & Susanne Kühn [see all titles]
Art centers, museums, galleries & varia [see all titles]
 Inessa Hansch & Susanne Kühn House for a Painting
Edited by Felizitas Diering.
Texts by Gilles A. Tiberghien and Felizitas Diering.

Published by FRAC Alsace.
published in July 2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
24 x 32,0 cm (softcover)
48 pages (16 color ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-2-911963-67-4
EAN: 9782911963674
in stock
 
Interdisciplinary and cross-border collaboration between Belgian architect Inessa Hansch and German artist Susanne Kühn: a work that combines architecture and painting, around space and its representation, which questions the idea of the inside and the outside.
The Belgian architect Inessa Hansch (Paris) and the German artist Susanne Kühn (Freiburg / Nuremberg) create joint objects that combine painting and spatial construction/installation. The catalogue accompanying the exhibition at FRAC Alsace illuminates this unique, interdisciplinary collaboration for the first time. It contains a series of images and texts pertaining to all aspects of Hansch and Kühn's joint venture – the works themselves and the questions they raise.
Inessa Hansch's architecture focuses upon the idea of “interiority”, the design of an environment, which allows an awareness for a specific site to unfold. Susanne Kühn's surreal visual worlds explore the painterly potential in the depiction of space and time while at the same time integrating the site and the viewer into the concept of the work.
In her joint projects with Inessa Hansch, her paintings respond dynamically to the architectural qualities of the objectlike structures, as well as to notions of inside and outside, light and shade, texture and scaling. In addition, their collaborative works explore the meaning of the human figure, both for the visual world of the paintings and the architecture, thereby demonstrating the possibilities for painting beyond two-dimensional limitations—a realm in which the viewer can become part of the artwork.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition at FRAC Alsace, Sélestat, in 2018-2019.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
House for a Painting
Inessa Hansch & Susanne Kühn [tous les titres]
Centres d'art, musées, galeries & varia [tous les titres]
 Inessa Hansch & Susanne Kühn House for a Painting
Edité par Felizitas Diering.
Textes de Gilles A. Tiberghien et Felizitas Diering.

Publié par le FRAC Alsace.
paru en juillet 2019
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
24 x 32,0 cm (broché)
48 pages (16 ill. coul.)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-911963-67-4
EAN : 9782911963674
en stock
 
La collaboration interdisciplinaire et transfrontalière entre l'architecte belge Inessa Hansch et l'artiste allemande Susanne Kühn : un travail associant architecture et peinture, autour de l'espace et de sa représentation, qui interroge l'idée de l'intérieur et de l'extérieur.
Inessa Hansch, architecte belge basée à Paris, et Susanne Kühn, artiste allemande basée à Fribourg, réalisent ensemble des œuvres associant architecture et peinture. À l'occasion de leur exposition au FRAC Alsace, ce catalogue éclaire pour la première fois cette collaboration unique et interdisciplinaire, et rassemble images et textes autour des réflexions partagées par les deux artistes lors de la conception de leurs œuvres communes.
L'architecture d'Inessa Hansch introduit l'idée d'« intériorité », la conception d'un environnement qui amène le spectateur à prendre conscience de la spécificité de chaque lieu. Quant aux mondes visuels fantastiques de Susanne Kühn, ils sondent les possibilités picturales de représenter l'espace et le temps, et incluent le lieu et le spectateur dans la conception de l'œuvre.
Par leur collaboration, les peintures de Susanne Kühn réagissent dynamiquement aux qualités architecturales des structures en forme d'objets d'Inessa Hansch, prenant en compte intérieur et extérieur, lumière et ombre, texture et échelle. Les œuvres explorent également la signification de la figure humaine, tant pour le monde pictural que pour l'architecture, et révèlent les possibilités d'une peinture au-delà des limites bidimensionnelles dans lesquelles le spectateur devient partie intégrante de l'œuvre.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme au FRAC Alsace, Sélestat, en 2018-2019.