english version / version française
Der weltrevolutionäre Prozess seit Karl Marx und Friedrich Engels bis in die Gegenwart
Heinz Peter Knes [see all titles]
Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite [see all titles]
Heinz Peter Knes Der weltrevolutionäre Prozess seit Karl Marx und Friedrich Engels bis in die Gegenwart
Edited by Heinz Peter Knes.
Texts by Dominikus Müller and Kito Nedo.
Graphic design: Studio Manuel Raeder.
published in February 2019
22 x 26 cm (softcover)
112 pages (color ill.)
€28.00
ISBN: 978-3-943514-76-6
EAN: 9783943514766
in stock
 
Artist's book, based on Peter Voigt and Arno Fischer's project developed for the Marx-Engels-Forum in Berlin.
In 1986, four double-stelae were erected in Berlin as a part of the Marx-Engels-Forum, which display 144 photographs, showing the development of the working class. Commissioned by the state, filmmaker Peter Voigt and photographer Arno Fischer developed a formal translation for Marx’s and Engel’s philosophy of history. In line with their documentational focus, the two artists were concerned with demonstrating the historical situation of the international working class, its grief, and its overcoming. The photographs, compiled from archives worldwide, constitute the foundation of the project. The chosen motifs respond to historical events as well as figures, depict everyday life and illustrate “circumstances”.
For the publication, Heinz Peter Knes and Dominikus Müller reconstructed the development of the photo stelae by conducting interviews with witnesses and researching archival material. Dominikus Müller and Kito Nedo transferred the research into a text. Heinz Peter Knes reproduced all of the 144 photographs eroded on the stelae in their current condition, including their wear and tear. This is a book about temporality and the representation of a social condition.
Heinz Peter Knes was born in 1969 in Gemünden am Main (Germany). He now lives and works in Berlin. From 1993 to 1999 he studied photography at the University of Applied Sciences FH in Dortmund. His work was first known through a number of magazine publications. In 1998 he also cofounded the photofanzine “Strahlung”. His work has been shown in a number of solo exhibitions (Porto, Berlin and Mexico City) as well as collective exhibitions (San Francisco, Copenhagen, Los Angeles and Oslo). Various book projects have been in depth researches, for instance into “Hannah Arendt's Library” (2013), the collection of american every day items of Martin Wong, titled “I M U - U R 2” (2013) or the art collection of Julie Ault, “Tell It To My Heart” (2013).

See also Andrée Putman at the CAPC by Heinz Peter Knes.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Der weltrevolutionäre Prozess seit Karl Marx und Friedrich Engels bis in die Gegenwart
Heinz Peter Knes [tous les titres]
Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite [tous les titres]
Heinz Peter Knes Der weltrevolutionäre Prozess seit Karl Marx und Friedrich Engels bis in die Gegenwart
Edité par Heinz Peter Knes.
Textes de Dominikus Müller et Kito Nedo.
Conception graphique : Studio Manuel Raeder.
paru en février 2019
22 x 26 cm (broché)
112 (ill. coul.)
28.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-943514-76-6
EAN : 9783943514766
en stock
 
Livre d'artiste, basé sur le projet du cinéaste Peter Voigt et du photographe Arno Fischer pour le Marx-Engels-Forum à Berlin.
En 1986, quatre doubles stèles ont été érigées à Berlin dans le cadre du Marx-Engels-Forum, qui présentait 144 photographies illustrant l'évolution de la classe ouvrière. Commandés par l'État, le cinéaste Peter Voigt et le photographe Arno Fischer ont proposé une transposition formelle de la philosophie de l'histoire de Marx et Engel. Conformément à leur orientation documentaire, les deux artistes se sont attachés à rendre compte de la situation historique de la classe ouvrière internationale, de ses déterminismes et de leur dépassement. Les photographies, compilées à partir d'archives du monde entier, constituent la base du projet. Les motifs choisis répondent à la fois à des événements historiques et à des personnages, dépeignent la vie quotidienne et illustrent des « circonstances ».
Pour cette publication, Heinz Peter Knes et Dominikus Müller ont reconstitué le développement des stèles photographiques en interrogeant des témoins et en recherchant des documents d'archives. Dominikus Müller et Kito Nedo ont transcris la recherche dans un texte. Heinz Peter Knes a reproduit l'ensemble des 144 photographies érodées sur les stèles dans leur état actuel, rendant compte de leur usure. Der weltrevolutionäre Prozess... est un livre sur la temporalité et la représentation d'une condition sociale.
Heinz Peter Knes est né en 1969 à Gemünden am Main (Allemagne). Il vit et travaille à Berlin. Entre 1993 et 1999, il étudie la photographie à l'Université de Applied Sciences FH à Dortmund. Son travail s'est fait connaitre à travers de multiples publications dans des magazines (Spex, 032c, Dutch, Purple, Readymade, Freier, i-D, Art Review, Butt ou Nylon). Il est également cofondateur en 1998 du photofanzine Strahlung. Son travail a été présenté dans de nombreuses expositions individuelles (Porto, Berlin et Mexico) et collectives (San Francisco, Copenhague, Los Angeles et Oslo). Différents projets d'édition ont fait l'objet de recherches approfondies, dont le Hannah Arendt's Library (2013), la collection des objets de la vie quotidienne de Martin Wong, intitulé I M U - U R 2 (2013) ou encore la collection d'œuvres de Julie Ault, Tell It To My Heart (2013). Knes collabore par ailleurs régulièrement avec l'enseigne Bless.

Voir aussi Andrée Putman au CAPC par Heinz Peter Knes.