les presses du réel

Robotic art

 - Robotic art
An introduction to robotic art in twenty installations and performances. The catalogue includes a brief history of the artist and the robot's relationship by Austrian curator Gottfried Hattinger.
When artists use robotics it is not so much to design robots as to transform the natural world. Giving pride of place to impressive and sometimes monumental works of art, like the twenty installations and performances featured in this catalogue, they strive to dissolve the boundaries between art and science.
Take Chico MacMurtrie / ARW's Totemobile, which looks like a well-known make of car but is actually a sculpture concealing fifty interdependent machines that unfolds to form an 18-meter-high organic totem made of metal and inflatable components.
Or consider the work of Dutch artist Theo Jansen, like Animaris Adulari, Animaris Umerus and Animaris Ordis, three of his autonomous giant beach creatures that resemble mammoth skeletons and are impelled by wind. According to their creator, “the walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds.”
Besides the course of the exhibition, the catalog includes a panorama on the mechanical and humanoids creatures, unpublished in English, “Artist and robot: A brief history of a relationship” by Gottfried Hattinger, former artistic director of the Ars electronica festival at the Brucknerhaus in Linz (Austria).
Works by Jean-Michel Bruyère / LFKs, Shun Ito, Theo Jansen, Lu Yang, Chico MacMurtrie / ARW, Maywa Denki, Till Nowak, Christian Partos, Robotlab, Shiro Takatani, Troika.

Published following the eponymous exhibition at Cité des sciences et de l'industrie, Paris, from April 8, 2014, to January 4, 2015.
Text by Gottfried Hattinger.
 
published in 2014
bilingual edition (English / French)
22 x 30 cm (softcover)
64 pages (60 color ill.)
 
ISBN : 978-2-821600-62-1
EAN : 9782821600621
 
out of stock
Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art Robotic art


 top of page

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Art robotique
Art Book Magazine [tous les titres]
  Art robotique
Texte de Gottfried Hattinger.
paru en 2014
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
22 x 30 cm (broché)
64 pages (60 ill. coul.)
ISBN : 978-2-821600-62-1
EAN : 9782821600621
épuisé
 
Catalogue présentant un panorama de l'art robotique en vingt installations et performances spectaculaires, accompagné d'une brève histoire de la relation entre l'artiste et le robot, par le curateur autrichien Gottfried Hattinger.
Qu'est-ce que l'art robotique ? Découvrez un monde spectaculaire d'invention et d'émerveillement. Appliquée au domaine artistique, la robotique va bien au-delà de la simple conception technique de robots. Des artistes l'utilisent pour transformer le monde naturel. Ils privilégient des œuvres impressionnantes et pour certaines monumentales, comme les vingt installations et performances présentées dans ce catalogue qui dissipent la frontière entre l'art et les sciences.
Si Totemobile de Chico MacMurtrie / ARW nous rappelle une célèbre voiture, c'est en fait une sculpture qui dissimule cinquante machines interdépendantes. Déployée sur 18 mètres de haut, elle se métamorphose en un totem organique composée de structures gonflables et de métal.
L'artiste néerlandais Theo Jansen a mis au point des créatures de plage autonomes. Pareils à des squelettes de mammouth, les meccanos géants Animaris Adulari, Animaris Umerus et Animaris Ordis se déplacent uniquement sous l'action du vent ou de l'air pulsé. Comme le dit leur créateur, « les murs entre l'art et l'ingénierie n'existent que dans nos esprits. »
Outre le parcours de l'exposition, le catalogue comprend un panorama sur les créatures mécaniques et humanoïdes, inédit en français, « L'artiste et le robot. Brève histoire d'une relation » par Gottfried Hattinger, directeur artistique du festival Ars electronica à la Brucknerhaus à Linz (Autriche).
Œuvres de Jean-Michel Bruyère / LFKs, Shun Ito, Theo Jansen, Lu Yang, Chico MacMurtrie / ARW, Maywa Denki, Till Nowak, Christian Partos, Robotlab, Shiro Takatani, Troika.

Publié suite à l'exposition éponyme à la Cité des sciences et de l'industrie, Paris, du 8 avril 2014 au 4 janvier 2015.