english version / version française
The Vallance Bible
Jeffrey Vallance [see all titles]
Centre d'édition contemporaine [see all titles]
Jeffrey Vallance The Vallance Bible
Published with Grand Central Press, Santa Ana.
published in 2012
English edition
16 x 21 cm (hardcover)
32 pages (color ill.)
€20.00
ISBN: 978-0-9817987-7-6
EAN: 9780981798776
in stock
 
The Bible according to Jeffrey Vallance: a mystical and blasphemous apocryphal tale.
While visiting the International Museum of Reformation—during his first stay in Geneva upon the invitation of the Centre d'édition contemporaine—the artist has felt connected with the figure of John Calvin inviting all good Christians to spread the word of God widely. From a distance of five centuries, he takes the message seriously by publishing nothing less than his own Bible—The Vallance Bible. This audacious decision seems to wear the seal of paradox as well: a spiritual and artistic accomplishment, and a blasphemous act, or at least one largely tainted by irony.
In The Vallance Bible, the artist gratifies us with original drawings, a bookmark and with a “portable” and “touch”-relic, i.e. a piece of cloth impregnated with the artist's sweat on the occasion of a performance given in the fitness studio of a YMCA. In short, the holy shroud within everybody's reach.
Published on the occasion of the eponymous exhibition, Centre d'édition contemporaine, Geneva, from March 30 to May 5, 2012.
Coming from the counterculture, Jeffrey Vallance (born 1955, lives and works in Reseda, Los Angeles) is a Californian artist who revisits religious rituals, folklore and fetishist practices. While he slips in turn into the clothes of an ambassador, an anthropologist, an explorer, a writer, a professor or an investigator in paranormal phenomena, Vallance remains a compulsive collector whose stock-in-trade is nourished by personal and collective mythologies. Influenced by his forebear Emil Knudsen (1872–1956), famous Norwegian medium, he strongly believes in the part inspiration plays in his work, often perceived as a conversation with the hereafter. He thus turns his everyday life into an enchanted world, open to acts of faith, mysteries and revelations. Raised within the strict Lutheran tradition and involved with a contemporary art practice flirting with heresy, Vallance solves this apparent contradiction in its dyslexic nature that allows him to let contradictory beliefs coexist in harmony.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
 



version française / english version
The Vallance Bible
Jeffrey Vallance [tous les titres]
Centre d'édition contemporaine [tous les titres]
Jeffrey Vallance The Vallance Bible
Publié avec Grand Central Press, Santa Ana.
paru en 2012
édition anglaise
16 x 21 cm (relié)
32 pages (ill. coul.)
20.00 €
ISBN : 978-0-9817987-7-6
EAN : 9780981798776
en stock
 
La Bible selon Jeffrey Vallance : un récit apocryphe mystique et blasphématoire en accord avec l'œuvre de l'artiste californien.
C'est en visitant le Musée International de la Réforme – lors de sa première venue à Genève à l'invitation du Centre d'édition contemporaine –, que l'artiste s'est senti interpellé par la figure de Jean Calvin, invitant tout bon chrétien à diffuser largement la parole de Dieu. A cinq siècles de distance, il lui fallait prendre le message au sérieux en publiant rien moins que sa propre Bible – The Vallance Bible. Ce geste audacieux serait à nouveau marqué au sceau du paradoxe : un accomplissement spirituel et artistique, tout comme un acte blasphématoire, ou du moins largement teinté d'ironie.
Dans The Vallance Bible, l'artiste nous gratifiera de dessins originaux, d'un signet et d'une relique « par contact » et « portative », soit une pièce de tissu imprégné de sa sueur à l'occasion d'une performance réalisée dans le fitness d'un YMCA (Young Men's Christian Association). Bref, le saint suaire à la portée de tous.
Publié à l'occasion de l'exposition éponyme, Centre d'édition contemporaine, Genève, du 30 mars au 5 mai 2012.
Issu de la contre-culture, Jeffrey Vallance (né en 1955, vit et travaille à Reseda, Los Angeles) est un artiste californien qui revisite les rituels religieux, le folklore et les pratiques fétichistes. Endossant tour à tour le costume d'ambassadeur, d'anthropologue, d'explorateur, d'écrivain, de professeur ou encore de chercheur en phénomènes paranormaux, Vallance est un collectionneur compulsif qui alimente son fonds de commerce de mythologies personnelles et collectives. Marqué par la figure de son aïeul Emil Knudsen (1872-1956), célèbre médium norvégien, il croit fermement à la part d'inspiration de son travail, souvent perçu comme un dialogue avec l'au-delà. Aussi fait-il de son quotidien un monde enchanté, ouvert aux actes de foi, aux mystères et aux révélations. Elevé dans la stricte tradition luthérienne et versé dans un art contemporain flirtant avec l'hérésie, Vallance résout cette apparente contradiction dans sa nature dyslexique, qui lui permet de faire coexister harmonieusement des croyances contradictoires.