english version / version française
Location Scout
Emanuel Röhss [see all titles]
Cura. [see all titles] Cura.books [see all titles]
Emanuel Röhss Location Scout
Edited by Lucy Chinen.
Text by Emanuel Röhss.

Graphic design: Chan-Young Ramert.
published in March 2016
English edition
12 x 20 cm (softcover)
208 pages (color ill.)
€15.00
ISBN: 978-88-97889-25-0
EAN: 9788897889250
in stock
 
Location Scout is an artist's book by Emanuel Röhss conceived as part of a 2015 project that addresses the interrelation between the Ennis House built by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in Los Angeles in 1924 and the Hollywood film industry in particular and the production of pop culture at large.
The book is intended to operate as an artwork in itself, not an index, catalogue or re-iteration of other artwork within Röhss' Ennis House project, yet its consumption and distribution is that of a book. It contains an array of imagery that the artist has been hoarding as part of his research of the mediation of the Ennis House through movies, TV-shows, music videos, computer games and commercial advertising. The image material is appropriated to form a suggestion for a new narrative, or reading, through it's juxtaposition within the book. Intertwined with the imagery is a short story written by Röhss. Drawing on the many tales, characters, elements and environments that has used the house as its setting, e.g. films and shows, the artist has re-worked the material, and made both literal appropriations as well as amalgamations of his sources. Himself a protagonist of the story, he features with his girlfriend as intruders breaking into the house, and subsequently both are faced with a number of challenges that they've got to overcome in order to unwind the mystery and find the secrets kept by the house...
Published on the occasion of exhibitions “Ytterstad”, Johan Bergren Gallery, Malmö, 2015, “The Night Holds Terror”, SALTS, Basel, and “Invitation to Love”, at Thomas Duncan Gallery, Los Angeles, in 2016.
Emanuel Röhss (born 1985 inGothenburg, Sweden, lives and works in London) is a multi-disciplinary artist, working through sculpture, painting and installation with a particular focus on site specificity. His practice interrogates and extrapolates the relationship between art and architecture, functionality and aesthetics. There is a parallel trajectory in Röhss' work, to the Duchampian ready-made, that explores agendas of appropriation and facsimile.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Location Scout
Emanuel Röhss [tous les titres]
Cura. [tous les titres] Cura.books [tous les titres]
Emanuel Röhss Location Scout
Edité par Lucy Chinen.
Texte de Emanuel Röhss.

Conception graphique : Chan-Young Ramert.
paru en mars 2016
édition anglaise
12 x 20 cm (broché)
208 pages (ill. coul.)
15.00 €
ISBN : 978-88-97889-25-0
EAN : 9788897889250
en stock
 
Location Scout est un livre d'artiste conçu par Emanuel Röhss dans le cadre d'un projet débuté en 2015 et consacré à la Ennis House, un bâtiment résidentiel de Los Angeles édifié en 1924 par l'architecte Frank Lloyd Wright qui servit de lieu de tournage pour Hollywood et inspira de nombreuses productions de la culture pop.
Pensé comme une œuvre à part entière, cet ouvrage s'inscrit pleinement au sein du projet d'Emanuel Röhss autour de la Ennis House. L'iconographie constitue un ensemble hétérogène d'images glanées par l'artiste au cours de ses recherches sur les représentations du bâtiment à travers les films, les émissions de télévision, les clips, les jeux vidéos et la publicité. Les matériaux iconographiques ainsi juxtaposés sont réappropriés par l'artiste à dessein de formuler de nouvelles lectures et narrations auxquelles se mêle une nouvelle écrite spécialement par Röhss. L'artiste s'inspire des nombreux récits, personnages et autres éléments dérivés des films et séries qui ont utilisé la demeure comme lieu de tournage. Il amalgame les sources, refaçonne ou au contraire propose des lectures littérales des matériaux réunis. Röhss et sa petite amie sont les principaux protagonistes de la nouvelle, deux intrus s'aventurant dans la maison et devant relever de nombreux défis afin de percer le mystère et les secrets de la Ennis House…
Publié à l'occasion des expositions « Ytterstad », Johan Bergren Gallery, Malmö, en 2015, « The Night Holds Terror », SALTS, Bâle et « Invitation to Love », Thomas Duncan Gallery, Los Angeles, en 2016.
Emanuel Röhss (né en 1985 à Göteborg, Suède, vit et travaille à Londres) est un artiste pluridisciplinaire s'exprimant à travers la sculpture, la peinture et l'installation in situ. Röhss interroge et extrapole les relations entre art et architecture, fonctionnalité et esthétique. S'inspirant du ready-made duchampien, l'œuvre de Röhss explore les problématiques de l'appropriation et du facsimilé.