english version / version française
Andrée Putman at the CAPC by Heinz Peter Knes
Andrée Putman [see all titles]
CAPC [see all titles]
Andrée Putman Andrée Putman au CAPC par Heinz Peter Knes
Texts by Jean-Louis Froment, Martine Péan, Andrée Putman.
Photographs by Heinz Peter Knes.

Graphic design: This side up / tsulibros.com.
published in December 2015
bilingual edition (English / French)
20,4 x 29,5 cm (hardcover, cloth binding)
112 pages (color ill.)
€35.00
ISBN: 978-2-87721-227-4
EAN: 9782877212274
in stock
 
German photographer Heinz Peter Knes offers a new photographic perspective on the furnishing of the CAPC museum of contemporary art in Bordeaux, one of the famous interior designer Andrée Putman's most accomplished projects and a milestone in the history of design.
Carried out over ten years, the furnishing of the CAPC by Andrée Putman (1983/1990) is still considered as a model of integration, and asserts itself as a fruitful conjunction between a secular architecture (The Lainé Warehouse) and a context of contemporary production (CAPC museum). As a result, it responds to the specific needs a cultural life project.
Taking into account the variety of spaces and activities that make the CAPC unique, Andrée Putman imposed both a radical approach to design and a lifestyle in this exceptional environment, thus developping a powerful and consistent vision, a total and unique art work. Andrée Putman's proposal of a rich and innovative vocabulary at the CAPC,brings together numerous specific re-editions showing her commitment to creators from various generations (Mallet-Stevens armchairs, benches and chairs; Mariano Fortuny lamps...) but also many of her own designs, which will remain unique pieces (the museum's reception desk, drawer knobs, managment desk, writing-desk chairs, screens and their lecterns, japanese suspended lamps, adjustable tray tables for the library, etc.) This book, dedicated to Andrée Putman's work, aims to pay tribute to this ambitious project as well as the visual magnitude it represents.
To reflect this greatness and go beyond the utopian vision that constitutes the archive images of the 90s, a new photographic eye was needed to reconcile the methodical inventory of Putman's style and the poetry of forms . The German photographer Heinz Peter Knes took up this challenge, and his images, which are at the heart of this book will report, more than 20 years later, the evolution of Andrée Putman's approach to design through the environment's mutations over time ; thus operating a visual dialectic between the proposed lifestyle and the daily use of the furniture.
See also Heinz Peter Knes.
Andrée Putman was born in 1925 in Paris. Abandoning her initial plan of a musical career, from the 1950s onwards she worked as a journalist and designer for the magazines “Elle” and “l'Oeil”. Open to the art of her time, she was acquainted with a number of artists such as Pierre Alechinsky, Bram Van Velde, Alberto Giacometti and Niki de Saint Phalle. Whilst working as a designer in 1958 for the Prisunic chain of shops and later for the Mafia agency in 1968, she intuitively spotted many future talents (Issey Miyake, Ossie Clark, Claude Montana and Thierry Mugler). From the 1980s onwards, Andrée Putman developed numerous projects, in interior design, rehabilitation, as well as the conversion of spaces into cultural sites, which little by little added to a growing international reputation (Morgans Hotel, New York; Boutiques Azzedine Alaïa, Paris; Musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux; The Concorde; Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rouen). In 1978 she created the ECART study office and brought back to the light works by forgotten creative talents from the 1930s.

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Andrée Putman au CAPC par Heinz Peter Knes
Andrée Putman [tous les titres]
CAPC [tous les titres]
Andrée Putman Andrée Putman au CAPC par Heinz Peter Knes
Textes de Jean-Louis Froment, Martine Péan, Andrée Putman.
Photographies de Heinz Peter Knes.

Conception graphique : This side up / tsulibros.com.
paru en décembre 2015
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
20,4 x 29,5 cm (relié, couv. toilée)
112 pages (ill. coul.)
35.00 €
ISBN : 978-2-87721-227-4
EAN : 9782877212274
en stock
 
Un hommage, au travers d'une mise en images par l'artiste photographe allemand Heinz Peter Knes, à la célèbre designer et architecte d'intérieur Andrée Putman (1925-2013), dont l'aménagement du CAPC musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux, transformé en une œuvre d'art totale unique il y a plus de 20 ans, constitue l'un des chantiers les plus ambitieux et accomplis de sa carrière et un jalon dans l'histoire du design.
L'aménagement du CAPC musée par Andrée Putman (1983 / 1990), ambitieux projet mené sur plus de dix ans, a fait date. Il est toujours considéré à ce jour comme un modèle d'intégration et s'affirme comme le résultat d'une conjonction fructueuse entre une architecture séculaire (L'Entrepôt Lainé) et un contexte de production contemporaine (le CAPC musée) répondant ainsi aux besoins spécifiques d'un projet de vie culturelle.
Prenant en considération l'intégralité des espaces et l'ensemble des activités du CAPC musée, Andrée Putman va imposer à la fois une écriture plastique radicale et un véritable mode de vie dans ce contexte exceptionnel, développant une vision puissante et cohérente, une œuvre d'art totale unique au monde. Andrée Putman propose pour le CAPC musée un vocabulaire riche fait à la fois de nombreuses éditions et rééditions spécifiques montrant son engagement auprès des créateurs de diverses générations (fauteuils, banquettes et chaises Mallet-Stevens ; lampe Mariano Fortuny…) mais aussi de multiples créations qu'elle aura dessinées, qui resteront des pièces uniques (banque d'accueil du musée, boutons de tiroir, bureau de la direction, chaises écritoire, paravents avec lutrin, suspensions japonaises, tableaux à plateaux inclinables pour la bibliothèque etc.) Le livre que le CAPC consacre à Andrée Putman souhaite rendre hommage et faire écho à l'ambition de ce projet ainsi qu'à l'ampleur visuelle qu'il constitue. L'ouvrage donne accès à un vaste catalogue de formes peu connu du grand public.
Afin de rendre compte de cette richesse et dépasser la vision utopique que constituent les images d'archives des années 1990, un nouveau regard photographique s'imposait qui puisse concilier inventaire méthodique de l'écriture putmanienne et poésie des formes. C'est le défi qu'a relevé l'artiste photographe allemand Heinz Peter Knes dont les images au cœur de cet ouvrage rendent compte plus de 20 ans après du devenir et des évolutions de l'écriture plastique d'Andrée Putman au regard des mutations de cet environnement au cours du temps, opérant ainsi une dialectique visuelle entre mode de vie proposé et mode de vie produit.
Voir aussi Heinz Peter Knes.
Andrée Putman est née en 1925 à Paris. Abandonnant le projet d'une carrière musicale, elle intervient, à partir de 1950 comme journaliste et styliste pour les magazines Elle et l'Œil. Ouverte à l'art de son époque, elle fréquente de nombreux artistes tels que Pierre Alechinsky, Bram Van Velde, Alberto Giacometti ou encore Niki de Saint Phalle. Styliste en 1958 pour les magasins Prisunic et pour l'agence Mafia en 1968, elle repère à cette époque avec intuition de nombreux futurs talents (Issey Miyake, Ossie Clark, Claude Montana et Thierry Mugler). A partir des années 1980, Andrée Putman développe des projets d'architecture d'intérieur, d'aménagements de lieux culturels et de réhabilitation qui lui vaudront peu à peu une reconnaissance internationale (Hôtel Morgans, New York ; Boutiques Azzedine Alaïa, Paris ; Musée d'art contemporain de Bordeaux ; Le Concorde ; Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rouen). En 1978, elle crée le bureau d'études ECART et ressuscite les talentueux créateurs oubliés des années 1930.