english version / version française
Rebel Without A Cause
Stefan Marx & Christoph Keller [see all titles]
Nieves [see all titles]
 Stefan Marx & Christoph Keller Rebel Without A Cause
published in June 2015
English edition
21 x 29,7 cm (softcover, plastic slipcase)
188 pages (color ill.)
€36.00
ISBN: 978-3-905999-61-7
EAN: 9783905999617
in stock
 
Fines as an artistic medium: Stefan Marx illustrates the monetary penalties collected by Christoph Keller for its activity as a distiller.
Rebel Without A Cause is a joint project between artist Stefan Marx and distiller Christoph Keller. It features Keller's exorbitant collection of over 150 traffic tickets and regulatory warnings that he accumulated over the last 20 years. These acts of misconduct and unpleasant letters by the authorities transform into art with Stefan Marx' associative drawings layered on top of each ticket. The originals were sold for the same price as the fine multiplied by 7 at Galerie Karin Guenther in Hamburg, under the motto“cheaper ticket = inexpensive artwork” thus the initial punishment transforming into a reward, value and joy.
Artist and designer Stefan Marx (born 1979 in Schwalmstadt, lives and works in Hamburg) is an actor of the skateboard scene, whose drawings usually adorn productions of his label "The Lousy Livincompany". He also collaborated with Playhouse Records, as well as with famous skateboard brands.
An expression of everyday's experience with a critical distance, his black and white drawings, overpainted flyers and enigmatic slogans are anchored in street culture but address our cultural awareness.
During the past years, Marx' art travelled around Europe in several occasions and galleries (like "“The Side Effects of Urethane"), as well as being reproduced in various magazines and publications like The Art of Rebellion and Street Logos.

Christoph Keller (born 1969 in Stuttgart) is a highly acclaimed spirits and liquor distiller at Stählemühle, his distillery in southern Germany. As a former art publisher (has been the founder and former director of the art publishing house Revolver – Archiv für aktuelle Kunst), editor, designer, and curator he continues to publish artist books under the publishing label Christoph Keller Editions through Swiss publishers JRP|Ringier. His curated archive on independent publishing Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication has traveled the world and is now housed at the Art Library in Berlin. Keller gives lectures and teaches at various art schools.

See also: Stefan Marx; Christoph Keller Editions (JRP|Ringier); Christoph Keller (homonym, born 1967).

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
Rebel Without A Cause
Stefan Marx & Christoph Keller [tous les titres]
Nieves [tous les titres]
 Stefan Marx & Christoph Keller Rebel Without A Cause
paru en juin 2015
édition anglaise
21 x 29,7 cm (broché, sous jaquette plastique transparente)
188 pages (ill. coul.)
36.00 €
ISBN : 978-3-905999-61-7
EAN : 9783905999617
en stock
 
De la contravention comme support artistique : Stefan Marx recouvre de dessins les amendes infligées à Christoph Keller du fait de son activité de distillateur (l'ancien éditeur d'art, designer et curateur se consacrant à présent à la production artisanale d'eaux-de-vie devenues très réputées).
Projet conjoint de l'artiste Stefan Marx et de l'éditeur et maître-distillateur Christoph Keller, Rebel Without A Cause dévoile l'impressionnante collection de plus de 150 contraventions et rappels à la loi accumulés par Keller en près de 20 ans d'activité. Ces avis d'infractions et autres courriers déplaisants délivrés par les autorités sont transformés en matériaux artistiques grâce aux interventions dessinées de Stefan Marx. Les originaux ont été vendus à hauteur de sept fois le coût de l'amende à la Galerie Karin Guenther à Hambourg, sous le leitmotiv « amende moins coûteuse = œuvre d'art bon marché », commuant ainsi la sanction initiale en rétribution profitable.
Artiste / graphiste / musicien, Stefan Marx (né en 1979 à Schwalmstadt, vit et travaille à Hamburg) est une figure de la scène skateboard. Il a collaboré avec de nombreuses marques spécialisées, mais aussi avec le label Playhouse Records. Il a fondé, en 1995, sa propre enseigne Lousy Livin' Company. Il est également le cofondateur du label et magasin de disques hambourgeois Smallville records, et membre du groupe The Dead See.
Ses dessins en noir et blanc, ses flyers et ses slogans énigmatiques rendent compte d'une expérience ancrée dans la culture de rue, tout en maintenant une distance critique qui interpelle au-delà des codes de toute contre-culture spécialisée.
Son travail a largement été exposé en Europe (notamment avec le collectif The Side Effects of Urethane) et présenté dans des revues telles que The Art of Rebellion ou Street Logos.

Christoph Keller (né en 1969 à Stuttgart) est l'éminent gérant d'une distillerie de liqueurs et spiritueux de Stählemühle, dans le sud de l'Allemagne. En tant qu'ancien éditeur d'art (il est l'ancien directeur de la maison d'édition Revolver – Archiv für aktuelle Kunst), designer et commissaire d'expositions, il conserve une activité éditoriale en tant que directeur de collection sous le label «  Christoph Keller Editions » chez l'éditeur suisse JRP|Ringier. Après avoir voyagé dans le monde entier, son archive itinérante d'éditions d'art indépendantes « Kiosk – Modes of Multiplication » siège désormais à la Bibliothèque des Beaux-Arts de Berlin. Keller est également conférencier et enseignant en écoles d'art.

Voir aussi : Stefan Marx ; Christoph Keller Editions (JRP|Ringier) ; Christoph Keller (homonyme, né en 1967).