english version / version française
Mario García Torres – What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger
Elisabeth Wetterwald [see all titles]
Frac Franche-Comté [see all titles] Conferences series [see all titles]
order
print send a link
back to description
 
excerpt
 
What doesn't kill you makes you stronger
(excerpt, p. 71-72)


All of Mario García Torres' work entails moving back and forth between past and present. The artist's interest lies with unfinished works or projects, little-known events or anecdotes, stories that have not gone down in history, facts that few people can attest to today, and a few unsolved mysteries. He extends them or re-orchestrates them to bring them “up to date”; he removes them from their historical and social context in order to examine the mechanisms that help to make history, to see how it can be restyled. Tributes indeed play a part (Mario García Torres works on creations by artists that he admires) but there is also the question of implementation : what remains of these works? What can we do with them today? What new opportunities can we give them?
Since the late 1980s many artists have taken hold of works produced by artists of previous generations; they make them their own, add a new slant and reinterpret them. They take shapes, handle them, deconstruct and reconstruct them. We are talking about quotation, appropriation, remakes and retakes (1). From that moment on, the notions of originality, oddness and creation ex nihilo fade away. Underlying these practices is the desire not to be subservient to history with a capital “H”, to icons and idols, to accepted and continued accounts; a dash of vigilance with respect to ideologies (all ideologies). We can be under no delusion, nor can we remain passive. We consider art as a series of experiments.
Though some of these elements appear in the work of Mario García Torres (reworking, quotation, re-enactment), this is not the nodal point of his approach. For more than history revisited, it is a matter of exploring memory and its corollaries: not only History, but also omissions, absences, gaps, disappearances, rumours, reconstructions, fiction and stories. Narrative account and fable are predominant in his work. If Mario García Torres explores memory, it is neither to “rescue” the past nor to erect monuments, but to try to understand how facts are transmitted and to what extent stories, myths and rumours influence the present; it is also to construct narratives designed to reflect on art, on the artist's status in contemporary Western society, on institutions and on the way that art history is constructed.
(...)


1. cf. Nicolas Bourriaud's argument in Postproduction, Dijon, Les presses du réel, 2003.
 
[top]

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
English version
Mario García Torres – What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger
Elisabeth Wetterwald [tous les titres]
Frac Franche-Comté [tous les titres] Collection Conférences [tous les titres]
commander
imprimer envoyer un lien
retour au descriptif
 
extrait
 
What doesn't kill you makes you stronger
(extrait, p. 61-62)


Tout le travail de Mario García Torres repose sur des allers-retours entre le passé et le présent. L'artiste s'intéresse à des œuvres ou des projets inachevés, des événements ou anecdotes restés méconnus, à des histoires qui ont échappé à l'Histoire, à des faits dont peu de personnes peuvent aujourd'hui témoigner, à quelques mystères irrésolus… Il leur donne des extensions ou bien les remet en scène pour les « actualiser » ; il les extrait de leur contexte historique et social pour s'interroger sur les mécanismes qui contribuent à fabriquer l'histoire, afin de voir dans quelle mesure on peut la repenser. Il s'agit bien d'hommages (Mario García Torres travaille sur des œuvres d'artistes qu'il aime) mais il est aussi question d'usage : que reste-t-il de ces œuvres ? que peut-on en faire aujourd'hui ? quelles nouvelles perspectives peut-on leur donner ?
Depuis la fin des années 1980, un grand nombre d'artistes s'emparent d'œuvres réalisées par des artistes de générations précédentes ; ils se les approprient, les détournent, les réinterprètent. Ils font usage des formes, les manipulent, les démontent et les remontent. On parle de citations, d'appropriations, de remakes, de détournements (1). Dès lors, les notions d'originalité, de singularité et de création ex nihilo s'effacent. Sous-jacentes à ces pratiques, il y a la volonté de ne pas se soumettre à la grande Histoire, aux icônes comme aux idoles, aux récits admis et reconduits ; une vigilance certaine à l'égard des idéologies (de toutes les idéologies). On ne peut pas être dupe, ni passif. On envisage l'art comme une série d'expérimentations.
Si on retrouve certains de ces procédés chez Mario García Torres (reprise, citation, reenactment), ce n'est toutefois pas le point nodal de sa démarche. Car plus que de revisiter l'histoire, il s'agit d'explorer la mémoire, et ses corollaires : Histoire, mais aussi oublis, absences, lacunes, disparitions, rumeurs, reconstructions, fictions et histoires. Il y a dans cette œuvre la présence prépondérante du récit et de la fable. Si Mario García Torres explore la mémoire, ce n'est ni pour « sauver » le passé ni pour ériger des monuments, mais pour essayer de comprendre comment les faits se transmettent, dans quelle mesure histoires, mythes et rumeurs influent sur le présent ; c'est aussi pour construire des récits permettant de réfléchir sur l'art, sur le statut de l'artiste dans les sociétés occidentales contemporaines, sur les institutions, sur la manière dont se construit l'histoire de l'art.
(...)


1. C'est ce que développe Nicolas Bourriaud dans Postproduction, Dijon, Les presses du réel, 2003.
 
[haut de page]