William Pope.L

 
William Pope.L (born 1955, New Jersey, lives and works in Chicago) is a visual and performance-theater artist and educator who makes culture out of contraries and confronts issues of race, sex, power, consumerism, and social class. Among his best-known works are the "crawls," a series of performances staged since 1978, in which he inches his way through busy city streets on his belly, back, hands, and knees in an attempt to draw attention to the plight of those members of society who are least empowered. He has been making multi-disciplinary works since the 1970s, and has exhibited internationally.
 
William Pope.L - Campaign
2019
English edition
Mousse - Mousse Publishing (books)
This book is a three-part report on the long-term collaboration between artist Pope.L and curator Dieter Roelstraete which revolves around issues of connectedness, home, and migration, while addressing art's relationship to knowledge.
William Pope.L - One Thing After Another
2019
bilingual edition (English / French)
La Panacée
Documenting Pope.L's exhibition at La Panacée, this catalogue's content comprises texts from the curators, Nicolas Bourriaud and Noam Segal, and photographs of the show. Pope.L worked in close collaboration with graphic designer Johanna Himmelsbach on this editorial project.
William Pope.L - Black People Are Cropped - Skin Set Drawings 1997-2011
2012
English edition
JRP|Editions - Hapax
Artist's book.


 top of page

flux RSS (nouvelles parutions)
version française / english version
William Pope.L
 
Plasticien, artiste de théâtre / performance et éducateur, William Pope.L (né en 1955 dans le New Jersey, vit et travaille à Chicago) interroge dans des projets multidisciplinaires les notions de race, de sexe, de pouvoir, de consumérisme ou de classe sociale. Il s'est fait connaître depuis les années 1970 pour une série de performances consistant à arpenter les rues animées de la ville sur son ventre, son dos, ses mains ou ses genoux afin de mettre en scène les inégalités sociales.
 

 
2019
édition anglaise
Mousse – Mousse Publishing (livres)
Cet ouvrage constitue une documentation en trois parties de la collaboration au long cours entre l'artiste Pope.L et le commissaire d'exposition Dieter Roelstraete, articulée autour des questions de connectivité, de foyer et de migration, abordant également le rapport entre l'art et le savoir.

2019
édition bilingue (français / anglais)
La Panacée
Prolongeant l'exposition de Pope.L à La Panacée, ce catalogue rassemble les textes des commissaires, Nicolas Bourriaud et Noam Segal, et un ensemble de prises de vue de l'exposition. Pope.L a ensuite travaillé en collaboration étroite avec la graphiste Johanna Himmelsbach sur cet objet éditorial.

2012
édition anglaise
JRP|Editions – Hapax (poche)
Les dessins sur le racisme de l'artiste américain.