english version / version française
Reflected Waves (book / DVD)
Jean-Luc Guionnet & Eric La Casa [see all titles]
Swarming [see all titles]
 Jean-Luc Guionnet & Eric La Casa Reflected Waves (ondes réfléchies) (livre / DVD)
Translated from the French by Owen Martell.

Published by Passage d'encres.
published in January 2016
bilingual edition (English / French)
21 x 25 cm (softcover)
60 pages (ill.), DVD video 108'
€20.00 €12.00
(special offer)
ISBN: 978-2-35855-113-7
EAN: 9782358551137
in stock
This publication documents the making of a sound mapping project of the city of Melbourne by musicians and artists Jean-Luc Guionnet and Eric La Casa.
In 2005, Jean-Luc Guionnet and Eric La Casa were invited by the Festival Liquid Architecture to lead a topographical and sound research on Melbourne, Australia. The artists sound mapped the city's four cardinal points as well as the Central Business District to work with the landscape's reflected waves. The result was shown at West Space Gallery in the form of an audiovisual installation. This edition offers a complete description of the process as well as an analysis of the recordings and mixing protocols.
For more than 20 years, while listening to the environment, Eric La Casa (born 1968, Tours, lives and works in Paris) has been questioning the perception of reality and has expanded the notion of what's musical today. Through his aesthetic of capturing sound, his work fits equally into the fields of sound art and music. As a result of his in situ listening processes, he creates forms (of attention) that creep into the venues, slowly infuse there, and become other possible spaces. In the same way that the letter stimulates a country's reading, the in situ aesthetic object renews our relationship to space and landscape.

Born 1966 in Lyon, Jean-Luc Guionnet is a French saxophonist and organist, a visual artist, a performer, and an electroacoustic composer.

See also Eric La Casa; Pascal Battus, Bertrand Gauguet & Eric La Casa; Jean-Luc Guionnet, Dan Warburton & Eric La Casa.