english version / version française
9th Lyon Biennial – The History of a Decade that has not yet been named
JRP|Editions [see all titles] Catalogues, Biennales & Collections [see all titles]
  9th Lyon Biennial The History of a Decade that has not yet been named
Edited by Stéphanie Moisdon and Hans Ulrich Obrist.
Texts by Anselm Jappe, Paul Veyne, Ralph Rugoff, François Cusset, Stefano Boeri, Okwui Enwezor, Mehdi Belhaj Kacem, Michel Houellebecq, Saâdane Afif, Pierre Joseph.
published in 2007
English edition
18 x 23,5 cm (hardcover)
304 pages (500 colour ill.)
ISBN: 978-3-905829-02-0
EAN: 9783905829020
in stock
Catalogue of the 9th Contemporary Art Lyon Biennal (The History of a Decade that has not yet been named), curated by Stéphanie Moisdon and Hans Ulrich Obrist, from September 19 2007 to January 6 2008.
This publication is concerned with play, mapping, and the experience of a collective writing. Thought of as a history, geography, and contemporary art book, it is the result of a series of delegations, invitations, and programs of those who conceived the event. Bringing together 70 “players” from around the world, divided into two groups according to whether they are artists or critics and exhibition curators, the project was developed around a central question: How to define the current decade. If the task of the first group was to choose responses among those proposed by artists today, the second group, benefiting from an open curatorial proposition, had to sequence these choices or confront them with others. Altogether, these subjectivities, framed by a few rules of presentation find themselves here as participants in an exercise of determining, repositioning, and reframing a decade and an object – art – the course of which is, as the yardstick of all-purpose concepts today, more and more indispensable.
With Stéphanie Moisdon, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Saâdane Afif, Jennifer Allora & Guillermo Calzadilla, Wilfrid Almendra, Daniel Birnbaum, Jérôme Bel, Giovanni Carmine, Claude Closky, Delphine Coindet, Keren Cytter, Alain Declercq, Philippe Decrauzat, Willem De Rooij, Hu Fang, Urs Fischer, Cyprien Gaillard, Ryan Gander, Wade Guyton, Dave Hullfish Bailey Norma Jeane, Pierre Joseph, Raimundas Malašauskas, Pierre Malphettes, Didier Marcel, Mathieu Mercier, Markus Miessen, Stefan Nikolaev, Olivier Nottelet Vincent Pécoil, Bruno Peinado, Seth Price, Josh Smith, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Armando Andrade Tudela, Eric Troncy, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Dorothea von Hantelmann, Kelley Walker, Nomeda & Gediminas Urbonas, Tirdad Zolghadr...

See also the catalogues of the 7th and 10th editions.